Internal User Management
User Management displays the User List in your server. These are your organization internal users, not accounts. Each registry shows the user's name, User ID, Status, and User Type.
As System Admin, you can add new users to your server, and view and edit users. When you add a new User, they receive a registration email to the email address you provide. Users must follow the link in the email to verify their email address and choose their own password to complete the registration process.
The User Status refers to the following:
-
Logged In: The User is currently logged-in.
-
Authorizing: The User has entered their login and password, but has not entered the Authorization Key sent to their email. Hover over status to display the Email Authorization Key.
-
Registered: The User has an Active account; their email address has been confirmed.
-
Deleted: The User's account has been deleted.
-
Disabled: The User's account has been disabled.
-
Unregistered: The User has not yet confirmed their email address.
The User Type refers to the Role of the user. Your server has two built-in User Types:
-
Standard User: The user only has access to log in to the server's interface.
-
System Admin: The user has access to all the features in the server.
You can create additional User Types tailored to your needs. Read the Roles section for more information.
To add a user to your server, click Add New User at the top of the Users page. Complete the registration form. Use the following table to understand each attribute in the registration form:
| Section | Attribute | Description | Required |
|---|---|---|---|
| User Information | User ID | Set a unique name for your users in your server. | Yes |
| User is an Administrator |
Check this box to give this user System Admin privileges. If you check this box, other configuration may not apply. |
No | |
| Name | Type the name of your user. | Yes | |
| Authentication Provider | Use this option to activate the SSO feature from an Active Directory provider. |
No |
|
| Department | Select your user's department. | No | |
| Type your user's email. Ensure you validate their email domain. | Yes | ||
| Phone | Add a phone number for your user. |
No |
|
| Alternate Phone | Add an additional phone number for your user. | No | |
| Account will not be disabled | Defines if the user is not included in the automatic search for expired accounts. | No | |
|
User Groups (not available when you set user as Administrator) |
Add your user to all the User Groups they belong. Read the User Groups section for more information |
Yes |
|
|
Roles (not available when you set user as Administrator) |
Select the Role of your user. | Yes | |
The Add New User form does not have fields for a password. After adding the user, they will receive a registration email with a link to verify their email address and instructions for settings their own password.
After you’ve entered the user details, click Save. The errors you may receive from this form are:
| Error message |
Solution |
|---|---|
| User ID must have at least 4 characters (user) | The User ID must be between 4 and 24 characters long. |
| The user ID you have entered belongs to another user | Another User Account has already defined this User ID. |
| Name is required | Name cannot be blank, and can be up to 128 characters. |
| Valid email address required | Email cannot be blank, and can be up to 128 characters. |
| The email you have entered belongs to another user | Another User account has already defined this email address. |
| At least one User Group is required | Ensure a check mark appears next to at least one User Group. |
| At least one Role is required | Ensure a check mark appears next to at least one Role. |
To view a User, click the User's name from the User List. From the View User page, you can Edit their profile.
To edit a User's details, click Edit from the View User page. From the Edit User page, System Admins can:
-
Send a Password Reset email.
-
Change the User's password
-
Remove Admin User access.
-
Change the Authentication Provider.
-
Change the Department.
-
Delete the user.
System Admins have the ability to remove any User from the system. To delete a User:
-
Click Delete from the Edit User page.
-
Click OK to the confirmation dialog to remove the User.
Deleting a user does not remove the user's information from the system; the server retains historical session details. Deleted accounts can't be used, and do not display by default in user lists.
System Admins have the option of viewing deleted users by using either the Show Deleted option on the User List page or by including deleted users in a search from Search Users.
When viewing a deleted account, admins can Undelete or Erase the user.
Undeleting a user marks their account as Unregistered, which requires a new password from the System Admin or the user.
Erasing a user effectively deletes the account and its connection history.
User Groups
All Users in your server must be part of at least one User Group. User Groups are groups of users that can access one or more . Only a System Admin may add new User Groups or edit the that a User Group can access.
Open the User Group page by clicking User Groups from the User or User Management menu.
The User Groups List contains all the User Groups in your server. The list includes their:
-
Name and Description: Defined when the User Group is created.
-
: Describes the number of the User Group can access.
-
Users: Indicates the number of Users in this User Group.
Users may belong to more than one User Group.
As an admin, you can add a new User Groups, and view or edit a User Group.
If you are not a System Admin user, you can only access Users in your User Groups.
To add a New User Group click Add New User Group. Complete the new user group form to create a new user group.
Enter Name and Description for the User Group. You can optionally select the that Users in this group have access to and which users belong to the User Group.
The errors you may receive from this form are:
| Error message | Reason |
|---|---|
| Gatekeeper Group Name is required | Namecannot be blank, and can be up to 128 characters. |
| Description is required | Descriptioncannot be blank, and can be up to 255 characters. |
| The Gatekeeper Group name you have entered is already in use | Another Gatekeeper Group is already using this name. |
To view a User Group, click its name on the User Group List.
From the User Group Details page, you can edit the User Group.
Only System Admins may edit User Groups.
-
System Admins can modify the Applications that a User Group can access, as well as its name and description.